Home Light Therapy Devices
Home Light Therapy Devices
Route to scalp/hair models only when the exact device is intended for that task.
Compare model geometry, coverage and intended use without generic pain-treatment claims.
Use appearance/beauty claims only when the exact model supports them.
Compare source, wavelength, output, area, exposure and model records.
Home Light Therapy Devices
Home light therapy products can look similar while having very different:
- light sources;
- wavelengths;
- output;
- coverage;
- intended uses;
- instructions;
- documentation.
SanYuan Herbs organizes this category by the actual buying task and the exact device model.
We do not treat every “red light,” “laser,” or “LLLT” product as interchangeable.
CTA: Compare Device Types
Shop by Use Task
Hair & Scalp
Hair-focused devices are designed around scalp coverage and a repeated-use routine.
Compare:
- form factor;
- coverage area;
- light source;
- wavelength;
- use time;
- fit;
- model documentation.
Explore: Laser Hair Growth Comb
Compare: Laser Comb vs Laser Cap
Joint & Back Routines
Body-use devices can differ in:
- wearable vs handheld form;
- coverage area;
- treatment zone;
- light source;
- wavelength;
- operating mode;
- use time.
Explore: Home LLLT Devices for Joint & Back Routines
Do not assume that a hair device and a body device are interchangeable.
Beauty & Skin Wellness
Beauty-oriented home devices should be compared by:
- actual intended use;
- light source;
- wavelength;
- exposure pattern;
- instructions;
- eye/skin safety;
- market classification.
Only devices that are currently approved for this category should appear here.
Current Beauty Device Status: Not publicly specified · Beauty Device Category Status
How to Compare a Home Light Therapy Device
Ignore the marketing headline for a moment.
Start with the model record.

1. Exact Model
Model: Not publicly specified · Model Number
A model number matters because:
- specifications can change;
- regulatory records are model/device specific;
- accessories can differ;
- instructions can differ.
2. Manufacturer
Manufacturer: Not publicly specified · Manufacturer Name
SanYuan Herbs should not be assumed to be the legal manufacturer unless the exact device record says so.
3. Light Source
Light source: Not publicly specified · Light Source
Examples can include:
- laser diode;
- LED;
- combination system.
The page should never change the source simply to rank for “laser.”
4. Wavelength
Wavelength(s): Not publicly specified · Wavelengths
A wavelength number alone does not establish:
- efficacy;
- dose;
- safety;
- regulatory clearance.
5. Output / Exposure Parameters
Where meaningful and documented:
- power/output: Not publicly specified · Output Power
- irradiance/power density: Not publicly specified · Irradiance
- exposure time: Not publicly specified · Use Time
- operating mode: Not publicly specified · Operating Mode
- coverage area: Not publicly specified · Coverage Area
If the manufacturer does not provide a verified field:
do not guess.
6. Instructions
IFU / Manual: Not publicly specified · Ifu Url
The IFU controls:
- intended use;
- duration;
- frequency;
- placement;
- contraindications;
- warnings;
- cleaning;
- accessories.
7. Warranty
Warranty: Not publicly specified · Warranty
Do not display a warranty badge until the exact policy/model is confirmed.
LLLT, Red Light and Laser: Why the Words Matter
Search engines and consumers often group these terms together.
Technically, the device still needs to say what it uses.
Laser
A laser source has distinct optical characteristics.
If a device is not a laser:
do not call it a laser.
LED
An LED-based red/near-infrared device should be described as LED unless the product includes an actual laser source.
LLLT / Photobiomodulation
The terminology is used across literature and commercial markets in different ways.
For purchasing:
the most reliable approach is to compare:
- source;
- wavelength;
- output;
- area;
- exposure;
- intended purpose;
- device evidence.
More Power Is Not Automatically Better
A single number can be misleading.
A meaningful comparison can involve:
- optical power;
- irradiance;
- area;
- distance;
- exposure time;
- energy delivered;
- continuous vs pulsed operation;
- device geometry.
SanYuan does not rank devices by one isolated specification.
Model Evidence & Regulatory Status
Every device should link to:
Device Evidence & Regulatory Status
For each exact model, the evidence record should identify:
- product name;
- model;
- manufacturer;
- label;
- IFU;
- technical specifications;
- tests;
- market status;
- regulatory record;
- source URL/file;
- source date;
- last verified date.
United States: “FDA Cleared” Is Model-Specific
FDA medical-device pathways are not interchangeable.
A device may be subject to:
- 510(k);
- De Novo;
- PMA;
- exemption/general controls
depending on classification and regulatory pathway.
510(k) Clearance
FDA explains that a 510(k) is a premarket notification pathway for many low- to moderate-risk devices where substantial equivalence to a legally marketed predicate is established.
Do not write:
FDA approved
when the actual evidence is:
510(k) cleared.
Do not write:
FDA cleared
because:
- manufacturer is registered;
- a similar product is listed;
- another model has a K number.
US status: Not publicly specified · Us Model Status
FDA record: Not publicly specified · Fda Record Url
Canada: Verify the Actual Licence
Health Canada’s Medical Devices Active Licence Listing (MDALL) provides active licence information for Class II, III and IV medical devices.
Match:
- company/manufacturer;
- licence name;
- device name;
- device identifier.
A similar device appearing in MDALL does not license a different model.
Canada status: Not publicly specified · Ca Model Status
MDALL record: Not publicly specified · Mdall Record Url
Australia: Sponsor & ARTG Must Match
For medical devices that require inclusion for supply in Australia, the exact Australian sponsor and ARTG record matter.
Do not reuse:
- another sponsor’s entry;
- another model;
- a supplier screenshot
as proof.
Australia status: Not publicly specified · Au Model Status
ARTG record: Not publicly specified · Artg Record Url
United Kingdom
The UK device route depends on:
- product classification;
- manufacturer;
- conformity assessment;
- registration/supplier role;
- Great Britain / Northern Ireland rules where applicable.
P048 should not show a universal UK “approved” badge.
UK status: Not publicly specified · Uk Model Status
UK evidence: Not publicly specified · Uk Model Evidence Url
Device Comparison
| Model | Task | Light Source | Wavelength | Coverage | Use Time | IFU | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not publicly specified · Device 1 | Not publicly specified · Task 1 | Not publicly specified · Source 1 | Not publicly specified · Wl 1 | Not publicly specified · Area 1 | Not publicly specified · Time 1 | Not publicly specified · Ifu 1 | Not publicly specified · Evidence 1 |
| Not publicly specified · Device 2 | Not publicly specified · Task 2 | Not publicly specified · Source 2 | Not publicly specified · Wl 2 | Not publicly specified · Area 2 | Not publicly specified · Time 2 | Not publicly specified · Ifu 2 | Not publicly specified · Evidence 2 |
| Not publicly specified · Device 3 | Not publicly specified · Task 3 | Not publicly specified · Source 3 | Not publicly specified · Wl 3 | Not publicly specified · Area 3 | Not publicly specified · Time 3 | Not publicly specified · Ifu 3 | Not publicly specified · Evidence 3 |
Only render rows with verified data.
Safety Comes From the Exact Model
Do not rely on a generic category warning.
Each model should provide:
- warnings;
- contraindications;
- eye safety;
- skin-contact guidance;
- electrical/battery safety;
- cleaning;
- storage;
- use frequency/duration.
If model safety information is incomplete:
the model should not be presented as fully documented.
Buyer Checklist
Before buying a home light device, confirm:
- [ ] Exact product name
- [ ] Model number
- [ ] Manufacturer
- [ ] Light source
- [ ] Wavelength(s)
- [ ] Coverage area
- [ ] Use time
- [ ] IFU/manual
- [ ] Warnings
- [ ] Warranty
- [ ] Market availability
- [ ] Model-specific regulatory record where applicable
- [ ] Current price/stock
- [ ] Return/shipping rules
Frequently Asked Questions
Is red light therapy the same as LLLT?
Not automatically. Compare the exact source, wavelength, output and intended purpose.
Is a laser better than an LED?
There is no universal winner based only on source type. The intended use, device design, exposure parameters and evidence matter.
Is 650 nm always better?
No. Wavelength alone is not a complete device evaluation.
Does more power mean better?
No. A device should be assessed using its full exposure and intended-use parameters.
How can I verify FDA clearance?
Use the exact manufacturer/device information and the corresponding FDA record. Do not rely on a generic FDA logo or manufacturer registration.
Is FDA registration the same as FDA clearance?
No.
How do I verify a Canadian device?
Use Health Canada MDALL for applicable Class II–IV devices and match the actual device information.
How do I verify Australia status?
Use the actual sponsor and ARTG information for the device where inclusion is required.
Can I use one device for hair, joints and beauty?
Only if the exact IFU/intended use supports those uses. Do not assume cross-use.
Where can I see the evidence?
Use Device Evidence & Regulatory Status.
Related Guides
- Laser Hair Growth Comb
- Home LLLT Devices for Joint & Back Routines
- Laser Comb vs Laser Cap
- LLLT vs Red Light Therapy
- Device Evidence & Regulatory Status
- Wellness Information Disclaimer
- Shipping
- Returns
Footer Boundary
Product and device information on SanYuan Herbs must match the exact model, manufacturer, instructions and applicable market record. A regulatory record for one model must not be reused as evidence for another device.